Appointments & Retirements

March 1, 2017

At the School of Nursing, Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences:

Amita Avadhani, assistant professor, director, Post-Master’s Doctor of Nursing Practice program, was appointed by Governor Christie to serve on the nine-member Task Force on Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD), charged with promoting public awareness about the causes of COPD to increase knowledge about the importance of early diagnosis and treatment, effective prevention strategies, and disease management.

Mary L. Johansen, clinical associate professor and associate director, New Jersey Collaborating Center for Nursing, was elected to the board of directors for the Organization of Nurse Leaders–New Jersey.

February 22, 2017

At the School of Nursing, Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences:

Susan Caplan, assistant professor, was appointed to a three-year term on the editorial board of the Hispanic Health Care International Journal.

William L. Holzemer, dean and distinguished professor, was appointed to the board of trustees of the Visiting Nurse Association of Northern New Jersey, which delivers home health services to residents of Morris and Hunterdon counties and neighboring communities.

Olga F. Jarrín, assistant professor, was appointed to the Early-Career Reviewer Program, Center for Scientific Review, National Institutes of Health, which helps identify promising grant applications.

Valerie Smith Stephens, assistant dean and director, Educational Opportunity Fund Program, was appointed an applications reviewer for the High Impact Pilots (HIP) and Standards Exploration Awards (SEA) Cooperative Agreements.  

February 15, 2017

Ernie DiSandro joined the university as director of financial and administrative systems in the Finance Division, supporting the division with the implementation of the new financial management system and a focus on data governance and reporting, business process transitions, organizational strategy, and systems integration. Previously, he was a principal at Ernst and Young where he worked with Rutgers as a consultant over the past several years.

January 25, 2017

Adam Day joined the university as director of treasury operations, overseeing activities including university bank accounts and banking relationships, cash flow and investment of operating cash, electronic funds transfers, merchant-card processing and credit-card security, cash and check handling policies and procedures, and gift cards. Previously, he was treasury manager for Tyco International.

Brian Simet joined the university as associate controller for payroll services. Most recently, he was director of payroll services at University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.

January 18, 2017

Beth DeMauro, director of Strategic Communications, Department of University Communications and Marketing, retired after 25 years. She was the university's brand manager and co-creator and director of the Rutgers Communicator Certificate Program and the Rutgers Communicator Network. Earlier, she served as communications director for the Associate Alumnae of Douglass College and as publications associate in the Department of Alumni Relations.

Steve Manas, University News and Media Relations, Department of University Communications and Marketing, retired after 25 years. He was responsible for promoting, among other things, activities of the Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy, School of Environmental and Biological Sciences, Eagleton Institute of Politics, and Center for State Health Policy.

Charles E. Menifield was appointed dean of the School of Public Affairs and Administration, Rutgers University–Newark, effective September 1, 2017. He will join Rutgers from the University of Missouri–Columbia, where he has been associate dean for academic programs at the Harry S. Truman School of Public Affairs since 2013 and professor since 2012. Learn more here.

December 14, 2016

Kathy L. Dettloff, formerly chief budget officer at the University of Delaware, was appointed vice president, financial planning and budgeting, University Finance and Administration, effective January 17. She will lead the Office of Budget and Resources Studies. Her primary responsibilities include: developing, managing, and implementing transformative and comprehensive financial-planning approaches; leading financial business-plan development and multiyear projections; partnering with the chancellors’ chief business officers to develop long-range financial and business plans; advancing financial business planning competencies across the university; and providing analysis and in-depth management of complex budget issues and the financial implications of short- and long-term budget decisions.

November 16, 2016

Steven K. Libutti will join Rutgers early in 2017 as director of the Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey and vice chancellor for cancer programs for Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences. In a major development of our partnership with the RWJBarnabas Health System, Libutti will also accept an assignment to serve as senior vice president, Oncology Service Line, for the system. A surgical oncologist, Libutti currently serves as the director, Montefiore Einstein Center for Cancer Care, New York City, where he is professor and vice chair of the Department of Surgery and professor, Department of Genetics, Albert Einstein College of Medicine and the Montefiore Health System. 

November 9, 2016

Ronald L. Becker is retiring from Rutgers University Libraries after 43 years of service, 25 as head of the Special Collections and University Archives during a period of significant growth. Becker, who will be leaving at the end of the current semester, also chairs the Middlesex County Cultural and Heritage Commission.

October 26, 2016

Arthur Brewer, statewide medical director for University Correctional Health Care at University Behavioral Health Care, Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences, was named to the board of directors of the Academic Consortium on Criminal Justice Health (ACCJH). ACCJH serves as the academic home for criminal justice health researchers, educators, clinicians, scholars, and administrators. 

Steven M. Silverstein, director of research, University Behavioral Health Care, and professor of psychiatry, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences, was installed as president of the Society for Research in Psychopathology, an organization of established psychopathology researchers that provides a forum for the presentation and discussion of current psychopathology research. 

October 12, 2016

Rachel Emas, assistant teaching professor, School of Public Affairs and Administration, Rutgers University–Newark, was appointed managing editor of Global Virtue Ethics Review, which addresses virtue ethics for public and nonprofit professionals.

Christopher J. Manente was named executive director, Rutgers Center for Adult Autism Services (RCAAS) at the Graduate School of Applied and Professional Psychology (GSAPP), Rutgers University–New Brunswick, responsible for the development and oversight of a day-habilitation program on campus supporting 40 to 60 adults with autism. Manente earlier served as senior program coordinator for Adult Services at the Douglass Developmental Disabilities Center at GSAPP.