Appointments & Retirements

October 26, 2016

Arthur Brewer, statewide medical director for University Correctional Health Care at University Behavioral Health Care, Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences, was named to the board of directors of the Academic Consortium on Criminal Justice Health (ACCJH). ACCJH serves as the academic home for criminal justice health researchers, educators, clinicians, scholars, and administrators. 

Steven M. Silverstein, director of research, University Behavioral Health Care, and professor of psychiatry, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences, was installed as president of the Society for Research in Psychopathology, an organization of established psychopathology researchers that provides a forum for the presentation and discussion of current psychopathology research. 

October 12, 2016

Rachel Emas, assistant teaching professor, School of Public Affairs and Administration, Rutgers University–Newark, was appointed managing editor of Global Virtue Ethics Review, which addresses virtue ethics for public and nonprofit professionals.

Christopher J. Manente was named executive director, Rutgers Center for Adult Autism Services (RCAAS) at the Graduate School of Applied and Professional Psychology (GSAPP), Rutgers University–New Brunswick, responsible for the development and oversight of a day-habilitation program on campus supporting 40 to 60 adults with autism. Manente earlier served as senior program coordinator for Adult Services at the Douglass Developmental Disabilities Center at GSAPP.

October 5, 2016

Lindsey M. McDougle, assistant professor, School of Public Affairs and Administration, Rutgers University–Newark, received a two-year appointment to the board of directors of the Association for Research on Nonprofit Organizations and Voluntary Action.

September 28, 2016

Maureen Braun Scalera, director, Office of Youth Empowerment, School of Social Work’s Institute for Families, was appointed chair of the New Jersey Board of Social Work Examiners. She was appointed by Governor Christie to serve on the board in 2012 and elected board vice chair in 2013.

September 21, 2016

Robert M. Eisenstein was appointed chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences. He served as interim chair since November 2011. He also is chief of the Ambulatory Service and Division of Emergency Care, Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital.

September 7, 2016

Leslie Danehy was appointed assistant dean and executive director of the BOLD Center (Building Opportunities for Leadership and Development) at Douglass Residential College. She had been associate director for leadership and development and established the Douglass Externship Experience with a new curriculum and increased student enrollment.  

Lisa Hetfield was named interim director of the Institute for Women’s Leadership (IWL), Rutgers University–New Brunswick. Most recently, she was IWL associate director and director of development. Hetfield, who earlier served as director of development for Douglass College, cofounded several IWL leadership programs, including the High School Leadership Certificate Program and the Executive Leadership Program for Professional Women. Hetfield steps into a role formerly held by Alison R. Bernstein, who passed away on June 30, 2016. Bernstein’s many contributions include developing two initiatives, the first on Women and Health, and the second on Women, Media, and Technology.

August 24, 2016

Cancer Institute's New Program Co-Leaders
The Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey announced new program co-leadership roles for research members in basic science, clinical science, and population science. Wei-Xing Zong, professor of chemical biology, Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy, Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences (RBHS), was named co-leader of the Cancer Metabolism and Growth Research Program. The program's other co-leader is Eileen White, Cancer Institute deputy director and associate director for basic science and distinguished professor of molecular biology and biochemistry, School of Arts and Sciences, Rutgers University–New Brunswick. Named to co-lead the Genome Instability and Cancer Genetics Research Program is Cancer Institute resident member Chang S. Chan, assistant professor of medicine, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, RBHS. Cancer Institute resident member Zhiyuan Shen, professor of radiation oncology and pharmacology, is the other co-leader. Cancer Institute epidemiologist Elisa V. Bandera, professor of epidemiology, RWJMS and School of Public Health (RBHS), was named co-leader of the Cancer Prevention and Control Research Program, co-led by Sharon Manne, associate director for population science and professor of medicine, RWJMS.

August 10, 2016

Eliot Benman, former assistant director of programs, Coming Home of Middlesex County Inc., was appointed research project coordinator, Alan M. Voorhees Transportation Center, Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy, Rutgers University–New Brunswick. 

Margaret Gilbride, instructor of pediatrics and director of transition, employment, and aging and disability, The Boggs Center on Developmental Disabilities, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences, was appointed by Governor Chris Christie to the New Jersey Advisory Council on End-of-Life Care. She will represent the issues and concerns of particular impact for and interest to people with intellectual and developmental disabilities, their loved ones, and their caregivers.

Shirley Smoyak, distinguished professor, Division of Entry to Baccalaureate Nursing, School of Nursing, Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences, retired effective July 1. She joined the then Rutgers College of Nursing faculty in 1960 and also served in the Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy, the Division of Continuing Studies, and the Rutgers Graduate School of Applied and Professional Psychology. Her most recent research includes investigations of college students’ use of high-energy drinks, particularly with alcohol.

July 27, 2016

Abby Stern Cardinale was appointed coordinator, Undergraduate Student Services, Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy, Rutgers University–New Brunswick. Previously, she was program coordinator and Veterans Administration school certifying official in the Registrar’s Office, Rutgers–New Brunswick.

Michael Lewis, University Distinguished Professor and director, Institute for the Study of Child Development, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences, was invited to serve as one of the American Psychological Association’s 2017 distinguished scientist lecturers. 

Jason MacDonald, an alumnus, joined the university as its first director of investments to help manage Rutgers’ long-term endowment assets, reporting jointly to Richard Aks, vice president for finance and associate treasurer, and to the chair of the Joint Committee on Investments. He most recently served as the senior portfolio manager of private markets for the State of New Jersey Division of Investment.

July 13, 2016

Tara Kelley was appointed audiovisual archivist, Giddings Underwater Photography Collection, Rutgers University Libraries. The Giddings collection is part of the Special Collections and University Archives in the Alexander Library.